Dress shopping part 1

29Jul10

The dress shopping weekend didn’t go so well.

First of all, it’s exhausting and really hard work. Second of all, dresses that you think will work often don’t, leading to disappointment. And thirdly, dress shop staff are ultimately sales people, albeit at different levels of pushiness.

Mum and I went to 5 dress shops in one day, then 2 the next. All very different with very different experiences. One was particularly awful, more on that another day.

The end (and main) result was that I proved that the custom dress is the one for me! It’s the dress that makes me grin. It’s the dress that makes me feel like me and the dress that I can put on and forget about. And it’s the dress that passes the bouncy castle test*. I booked my slot with the designer (more to be revealed soon) first thing on Monday morning and I’m so happy with my decision.

Now, any advice on how to get any work done when I can’t stop looking at the picture of my dress?

*This became my dress shopping mantra whenever a pretty dress tempted me – Can I see myself on a bouncy castle in this dress?”. Slightly concerned that the bouncy castle may be taking over the wedding.

One Response to “Dress shopping part 1”

  1. Ha ha I love it, ‘can i see myself on a bouncy castle’

    Glad you proved the custom dress is the one!


Leave a Reply

