Dress shopping part 2 – Things I learned

30Jul10

Things I learned about dress shopping

  • You apparently only need to try on 4 dresses before you find the “one”. (convenient as most dress shops seem to let you try on 4 dresses in your one hour appointment)
  • When you try on “the dress” you will know straight away. (but the dress shop lady will still want you to strut around like an idiot while she tries to sell it to you)
  • Often, the dress shop staff will bring the dress they know your Mum will like, rather than the ones you want.
  • Apparently I have to dress like a princess because the dress is more important than anything else.
  • Wedding dresses are heavy and make my ass look humungous.

Things I learned about my Mum whilst dress shopping
(Some of these things may be down to the fact that my parents had a tiny, low key wedding and Mum didn’t wear a typical dress)

  • She has a vision of me on my wedding day wearing a HUGE white dress with long train and lots of sparkle.
  • She agrees that most typical wedding dresses are not me, but still can’t get over the big white dress thing.
  • We shouldn’t ever shop for 8 hours together.
  • She gets up too early.

Things I learned about myself while dress shopping

  • I am far too polite and for some reason I didn’t want to discount the dresses for fear of offending the staff. Including the truly hideous ones.
  • I don’t subscribe to the dress being the most important thing about the wedding. The marriage is the most important thing about the wedding, the dress will just make me feel pretty whilst getting married.
  • I can’t be bothered with people fussing over me. The thought of someone creeping about behind me trying to fix the train of my dress All Day Long makes me a little bit angry. And people would do it. They have a compulsion that makes them.
  • More than anything else I want a dress that I put on and then forget about. Nothing that will be heavy, require fussing or anything that stops me from being able to move freely!
  • I like more sparkle and lace than I thought I would.
2 Responses to “Dress shopping part 2 – Things I learned”

  1. He he… not sure if I’m meant to be grinning at this post… but I love the things you learned about dress shopping, your mum and yourself! I’ve done my dress shopping so far with my best friend or my dad’s girlfriend and they’re both obsessed with getting me something that is ‘me’ as I was probably too polite too! So far I’ve been doing better at dress shopping by looking online… and I agree it’s so not the most important part!

    Glad you found yours though 🙂

  2. 🙂 I discovered I liked more sparkle and lace than I thought too! I also discovered that I should probably always shop alone. And that I should bring my own heels to try on. Some of the shoes they presented me with quite literally made me gag.


Leave a Reply

